Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

World champions All Blacks to be captained by Beauden Barrett for the first time at Twickenham

2 November 2017 4:01 AM
253 0
World champions All Blacks to be captained by Beauden Barrett for the first time at Twickenham

Beauden Barrett will captain a second-string New Zealand side when they take on the Barbarians at Twickenham on Saturday, live on Sky Sports.

Hooker Asafo Aumua, prop Tim Perry and wing Matt Duffie, a former rugby league international, could make their All Blacks debuts from the bench against the Baa-Baas.

Steve Hansen's side return to the venue for the first time since beating Australia in the World Cup final two years ago.

Barrett, the 2016 World Player of the Year, is one of the few in the match-day 23 who would be considered a first-choice selection and becomes the All Blacks' 132nd captain as regular skipper Kieran Read sits out the first game of a five-match European tour.

Jerome Kaino fills Read's No 8 role after returning to the squad for the first time since being sent home to address issues surrounding his family life ahead of New Zealand's successful 2017 Rugby Championship defence.

Wing Seta Tamanivalu, whose stand-out year for Super Rugby champions Canterbury Crusaders has kept Julian Savea out of the touring squad, returns for his first international in more than a year.

Prop Jeffrey Toomaga-Allen is on the bench four years after winning his solitary All Blacks cap.

"Not only is it a special occasion for the team, it'll also be a particularly special day for Beauden, as well as the three new All Blacks Asafo, Tim and Matt, who will be pulling on the All Blacks jersey for the first time," Hansen said.

"It's very rare that we get the chance to play a non-Test match in the modern era and it's given us the chance to give our full squad an opportunity to stake claims for future matches and gain valuable big-match experience."

David Havili gets his first start at fullback while centres Anton Lienert-Brown and Ngani Laumape are paired for the first time.

The senior lock on tour, Sam Whitelock, is being rested with Scott Barrett and Luke Romano starting in the middle row with Patrick Tuipulotu providing cover from the bench.

New Zealand: 15 David Havili, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Seta Tamanivalu, 10 Beauden Barrett (c), 9 TJ Perenara, 1 Kane Hames 2 Nathan Harris 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi 4 Luke Romano 5 Scott Barrett 6 Vaea Fifita 7 Ardie Savea 8 Jerome Kaino.

Replacements: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Matt Duffie.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0